Nursery & Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Profile summarises and describes children’s attainment at the end of EYFS. It is based on ongoing observation and assessment in the three prime areas and four specific areas of learning, and the three characteristics of learning, set out below:

The prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • The specific areas of learning:
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design
  • The learning characteristics:
  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

A completed EYFS profile consists of 20 items of information; the attainment of each child is assessed in relation to the 17 Early Learning Goals (ELG), together with a short narrative describing the child’s three learning characteristics. Assessments will be based primarily on observation of daily activities and events. For each ELG, staff must judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception Year (expected), exceeding this level (exceeding), or not yet reaching this level (emerging).

At the end of Foundation Stage (i.e. towards the end of the summer term in Class 2) parents will be invited into school to discuss the outcomes of assessments, based on observations made by your child’s teacher. The completed assessment is known as the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile. Outcomes of these assessments are also used to inform the next teacher who will use the information to assist their Year 1 planning (Class 3 in our case). Further information about the EYFS is available on the government website

Mrs. Winchester (Nursery Manager Class 1) Mrs. Golder (Class 2 teacher and Head of Foundation Stage) are the staff who can help you further if you require any additional guidance.